114669711862128584

May 4, 2006 at 12:00 am 47 comments


Thirteen Reasons why Guppy should stay not smoking!

1. Because his 7 year old daughter tearfully said last year ” Daddy all I want for my birthday is for you to stop smoking.”

2. So that he is adding years to his life instead of taking them away.( I kinda like having him around πŸ™‚ )

3. Because I got that same request from little one last year and actually did quit.

4. It’s hard being a non smoker married to a smoker at times.

5. He smelled like an ashtray a lot when he was smoking.

6. I can kiss him anytime now without him having to run and brush his teeth first ,which kind of takes ” the moment” away.

7. The car smells better now that he has quit.Even though he never smoked with me or lil one in the car .He did smoke quite a bit in the car while alone.

8. We can actualy watch a tv show or a movie without having to take pause breaks for him to run out and smoke.

9. He has more energy now that he hasn’t smoked for 5 days.

10. Because he has already gone 5 days and he smells wonderful all the time now… Yeahhhh him and Praise God!

11. Because he promised he would after my surgery was over.

12. Because I know he can do this, with God’s help.

13. *drum roll please * ……….because it saves more money for gas…lol πŸ™‚

Links to other Thursday Thirteens!
1. (leave your link in comments, I’ll add you here!)

Get the Thursday Thirteen code here!

The purpose of the meme is to get to know everyone who participates a little bit better every Thursday. Visiting fellow Thirteeners is encouraged! If you participate, leave the link to your Thirteen in others comments. It’s easy, and fun! Be sure to update your Thirteen with links that are left for you, as well! I will link to everyone who participates and leaves a link to their 13 things. Trackbacks, pings, comment links accepted!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Wordless Wednesday ( The Eve of the National Day of Prayer) Tagged by EPH2810

47 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bar Bar A  |  May 4, 2006 at 1:41 am

    YES HE SHOULD! Great T13!

    I am recovering from the lovely dog pic he posted!!!!

    Reply
  • 2. DayByDay4-2Day  |  May 4, 2006 at 7:01 am

    I wish him strength to stay cigerette free.

    Reply
  • 3. Angie  |  May 4, 2006 at 7:17 am

    Boy those are some great reasons! Hope you shared w/ him too. Who could start back after reading those? Good luck to ya!

    Reply
  • 4. 3rdtimesacharm( 3T )  |  May 4, 2006 at 9:01 am

    Excellent list as to why he shouldn’t smoke Stormii!:-)

    I’ll say a prayer of strength for your hubby! πŸ™‚

    I want to thank you for your support and the poignant and beautiful exhortation you left for my husband yesterday. (What you wrote mean’t a lot to me!)

    (((HUGS)))

    3T

    Reply
  • 5. Susan  |  May 4, 2006 at 9:04 am

    Congrats!!! I dont think im ready to quit though but I know I will have to quit smoking someday. But I’m glad ur hubby hasnt been smoking for 5 days now, keep up the good work!! happy thursday,mine is up

    Reply
  • 6. Wystful1  |  May 4, 2006 at 9:14 am

    I had quit for 3 years, then went into a stinking bar….and back at it again!!!

    My T T is published

    Reply
  • 7. Guppyman  |  May 4, 2006 at 9:26 am

    So… you think I should stay quit? But it’s so hard!

    Anyway… I told you I’d do it this time… Haven’t even cheated a little either.

    Yay!

    Reply
  • 8. ivoryfrog  |  May 4, 2006 at 9:30 am

    great list!
    I am sure guppy will manage to keep off the ciggies…5 days is good going! Congrats to him!

    A lot of folk around me have given up recently (a public ban introduced march 26th here in the UK) and they are all doing good. It must be hard…I ahve never smoked so I can’t appriciate the addiction myself….unless its similar to the chocolate addiction I seem to have. πŸ˜‰

    Thanks for visiting my list!
    Happy Thursday!
    Ivoryfrog x

    Reply
  • 9. Marisa  |  May 4, 2006 at 9:36 am

    My FIL quit last year (right when I got sick — coincidence?) after smoking 2 1/2 packs per day for over 40 years. It can be done.

    Good luck to him!

    My TT are up.

    Reply
  • 10. Becky, Mom, Mommy, Hey you,  |  May 4, 2006 at 9:49 am

    Congrats to him (and you) I used to hate it when my hubby smoked..ughhh

    Reply
  • 11. Leesa  |  May 4, 2006 at 10:39 am

    Very nice πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 12. Jaws  |  May 4, 2006 at 10:46 am

    I am a nonsmoker and my husband smokes. He wants to quit and I want him to quit. Trouble is 24 hours into him quitting the evil side of him takes over and I start throwing pack of cigs at him begging him to smoke..LOL

    Reply
  • 13. YankeeAmanda  |  May 4, 2006 at 10:49 am

    Yes, good lord, those things are too expensive. Tell him for every one he smokes he gets a dollar less for gas. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 14. Pink Chihuahua Princess  |  May 4, 2006 at 10:54 am

    Stay patient. My husband was a smoker when we married, and he finally quit. I guess its like anything else–you have to be ready.

    Thanks for stopping by my TT. Happy Thursday!

    Reply
  • 15. Poopydigs  |  May 4, 2006 at 10:56 am

    I wish him the strength to fight the nicotine monsters. God knows I fight them all the time.

    Thanks for stopping by!

    Reply
  • 16. Dawn  |  May 4, 2006 at 11:02 am

    Hope he can do it! Love # 13 –And yes it will save on gas, gee at the price of gas.

    Happy Thursday!

    Reply
  • 17. Lisa  |  May 4, 2006 at 11:09 am

    Yea for quitting smoking! I think I’m going to e-mail you TT to my Mom, maybe she’ll get the hint!

    Thanks for stopping by my TT

    Reply
  • 18. Chana  |  May 4, 2006 at 11:10 am

    He can do it! Good for him for going as long as he has! Keep going it’ll get easier! My TT is up!Oh, and if 15 says “you’ that’s supposed to be me…Linky isn’t linking on some sites today!

    Reply
  • 19. Tracy  |  May 4, 2006 at 11:14 am

    I empathize with him. It’s tough. I still haven’t quit yet!

    Reply
  • 20. Mary  |  May 4, 2006 at 11:20 am

    Cool! We’ll be praying he stays strong. My dad quit when he came home one day and saw me playing with the butts in the ashtray!

    Kids have a strong influence . . .

    Thanks for stopping by my TT!

    Reply
  • 21. TamWill  |  May 4, 2006 at 11:43 am

    WOW Stormi – I am very proud of you for quitting πŸ™‚ how did you do it?

    I want to quit and I have tried. Went to the Doctor on Monday and he prescribed Wellbutrin XR. I have tried the gum and patches. I am praying that this Wellbutrin works.

    My boys keep tellin’ me “Mom, we can’t be professional baseball players if you are gonna smoke” and truthfully I want to be around!

    Will keep guppy in our prayers.

    Reply
  • 22. d.challener roe  |  May 4, 2006 at 11:52 am

    Without trying to preach, #1 would be enough for me….well that and my terrible asthma.

    Reply
  • 23. TNChick  |  May 4, 2006 at 12:41 pm

    Great reasons for Guppy. hard task tho –

    Reply
  • 24. Angie  |  May 4, 2006 at 12:53 pm

    How could he NOT stay quit after THAT list??:)

    He is lucky to have you and lil one..but he already knows that.

    Reply
  • 25. Skittles  |  May 4, 2006 at 1:05 pm

    Great reasons! I know my health has improved BIG time since I stopped. πŸ™‚

    PS: To answer your questions. I get so many samples becauase I own a yahoo group for samples/freebies. I get lots of stuff in my mail. I haven’t gotten to see it yet. It just came in mail and kids get home in 2 hours. 😦

    Thanks for stopping by my TT.

    Reply
  • 26. Carolyn  |  May 4, 2006 at 1:30 pm

    That’s a great list. I don’t smoke, but I have lots of other bad habits, and I know one is as hard as the other when it comes to quitting. My aunt was a smoker. Even just being there a few minutes, I would reek of smoke when I left. She’s is a nursing home now (and guess what…no smoking! image that). But going through her stuff that we boxed up … ukkk… stale cigarette smoke. I wish yor husband all the best. I hope he quits!!

    Thanks for stopping by. I think I’m going to link you permanently (hmmm..thats sounds kinda omiminous,doesn’t it?). Like you said … Christian and Scrapbooking –I think I was in here the other day and thought about linking you, but didn’t. But now I’m going to, if you dont’ mind:)

    Reply
  • 27. Suzy  |  May 4, 2006 at 1:30 pm

    Good luck! I know that has too be difficult!

    Reply
  • 28. Amy  |  May 4, 2006 at 1:47 pm

    My fiance quit smoking and now he doesn’t know how he ever did it! He feels so much better and actually can’t stand the smell any more which is YAY for me!!! It’s great not having him smoke and it saves SOOOO much money! Good luck to him, it’s tough!

    Reply
  • 29. YellowRose  |  May 4, 2006 at 2:13 pm

    I agree with every one of those reasons! I use to smoke and when I quit, it wa wonderful!! Good luck to Guppy!! He can do it!

    Happy Thursday, my TT is up!

    Reply
  • 30. Lazy Daisy  |  May 4, 2006 at 2:18 pm

    He’ll be in my prayers. Hope he reads your list. Thanks for coming by.

    Reply
  • 31. eph2810  |  May 4, 2006 at 2:51 pm

    Awesome reasons to stop πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 32. Dariana  |  May 4, 2006 at 3:13 pm

    OMG, you have no idea how much I needed to see this today. I am desperately trying to quit and struggling every step of the way. I found your post very encouraging when I thought about all these things. I may make it through another day WITHOUT afterall.

    Happy TT!

    Reply
  • 33. Denise  |  May 4, 2006 at 3:19 pm

    I would LOVE for my husband to stop smoking. He stinks!

    Reply
  • 34. WendyWings  |  May 4, 2006 at 3:21 pm

    Amen and amen, gupppy should stay not smoking.
    I am speaking as one who lost a parent to lung cancer when she was in her forties !
    My TT is up πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 35. Bonnie  |  May 4, 2006 at 3:44 pm

    Great T13! It also makes me glad I quit so long ago.

    Reply
  • 36. Moogie  |  May 4, 2006 at 3:49 pm

    Yay!!!! He can do it. I know it’s so very hard to do! It’s hard being married to smoker if you are not one. It’s like licking an ashtray when you kiss them. πŸ™‚

    My TT is up!

    Reply
  • 37. Almost Porcelain  |  May 4, 2006 at 4:00 pm

    Yay for people trying to quit!

    Thanks for stopping by

    =)

    Reply
  • 38. TLC  |  May 4, 2006 at 4:07 pm

    Laughing at #13. So true! “Do you want to smoke, or do you want buy gas??”

    My T13 is up!

    Reply
  • 39. Lifecruiser  |  May 4, 2006 at 4:16 pm

    oh my, I’m sure it must be at least 113 reasons for it and zero excuse for doing it, but I’m not so sure that it makes it any easier for him… *lol*

    Reply
  • 40. Undercover Angel  |  May 4, 2006 at 4:35 pm

    It’s so easy to get started, but so hard to quit. My TT is up! Thank you so much for renting to me this week by the way.

    Reply
  • 41. Carmen  |  May 4, 2006 at 5:11 pm

    i’ll keep my fingers crossed that he quits this time!

    Reply
  • 42. eph2810  |  May 4, 2006 at 6:01 pm

    I thought I had left my link – hmmmm. Strange.

    Reply
  • 43. Norma  |  May 4, 2006 at 8:10 pm

    Congratulations to you both. Quiting isn’t easy. You’ll both have fewer wrinkles and you’ll be able to grow old together!

    My TT is up.

    Reply
  • 44. FRIDAY'S CHILD  |  May 4, 2006 at 8:27 pm

    Congratulations for quitting. That was quite hard to do.

    Reply
  • 45. EmilyRoseJewel  |  May 4, 2006 at 9:24 pm

    So thankful my mom quit, I hope your he quits too. My list is up.

    Reply
  • 46. Just Expressing Myself  |  May 5, 2006 at 10:50 am

    I have quit more times than I care to think about it. Congratulations to you on your quitting successfully. Hope your hubby can be as successful. My own TT is up. Take care, Frances

    Reply
  • 47. txsoapmom43  |  May 5, 2006 at 10:27 pm

    Awwww! #1 really got me. My dad quit several years ago and I’m glad that he did. Thankfully, I never took up the habit.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

May 2006
S S M T W T F
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031